November 1, 1918

Fri Nov 1st   At Lieut Brewers Camp Ft Desmoines   cold   a hard frost & we arose early & had breakfast & Martin & wife went with us to the interurban & I pd our fares to D 25c   10 miles & She went with us to D & staid till we took train at 8,45   I got 6 fine grimes golden [apples]  pd 40c & we had a pleasant ride & arrived in Corydon at noon & John pd one dollar Taxi fare & Ellen soon had dinner & at 2 PM   John & I went down town & attended GAR post Robert Jackson post 198   12 members of the post were present   I was called on by the com [commander] to give a talk which I did to the best of my poor ability   I was very favorably imprest by the old Comrades    a social earnest set of men   26 names yet on the roll  we went after post to the office of one of the Editors Le Compte by name & past an hour or so in social conversation   I bought 1 doz nice apples grimes golden & Johnathan   pd 40c   home at sunset & we read the daily papers with satisfaction as the war news were very favorable except politics is creeping in when the parties should be united in bringing about a satisfactory peace   I sent a card to Harriet & Willard in Olathe Kansas 

Leave a Reply

