October 14, 1918

Mon 14   An extra fine da   frost this morn   I arose a little early & fed & milkd my cow for the last time & I never milkd a gentler cow   some after 10 am John Fleming & son Everet [came]   I rode in auto with them to my pasture   I put a good halter on my cow & sold her to John Fleming for $100, & he gave me a check which I had put to my acct   I got mail at noon   rec a letter from Leslie in DC   he is well & very busy  much influenza in the hospital in camps & City   Lavanda & baby are in Clermont   I took plants to Florilla Longwell & went down & maild 5 letters to Roy Maude Nora Sloan in SE & B Reece Jones Secy insurance Desmoines [1]   boy brot 2 boxes strawberries & Florilla Longwell pd for them   I took laundry to Carrie   I went [to] Mrs Crossets this eve & pd her 1,50 for boys taking cow up to 17th

[1] Rees B. Jones, Secretary, Fire Insurance Company, Des Moines, (Source Citation – Ancestry.com, Year: 1920; Census Place: Des Moines Ward 1, Polk, Iowa; Roll: T625-507; Page: 8B; Enumeration District: 86; Image: 1011)

Leave a Reply

