August 9 and 10, 1918

Fri 9  & Sat 10   Mostly Cloudy  cool & pleasant   Uri Taylor came early & workd for mother 5 hours & I pd her one dollar   I pd electric stove bill for July 2,90   I mowed the lawn south of the house   I got mail at noon & got bacon & steak 45c  Tea 30c sugar 19c   war news still favorable to our side   Electricity failed just at noon so we didn’t get our meat cooked   in the eve I went for the mail   got none   I expected a letter from Leslie   Dr McIntosh our Mayor invited mother & I to ride in their fine new car   we went to Washington (Sat eve)   I got some ice cream lemonade musk mellon &c 75c   we had a fine ride   Sam, Jessy Ashby & I heard that Fletcher Graham is dead   home near 11   fine ride

Leave a Reply

