April 15, 1918

Mon 15  Cloudy dark rainy SE slow & Easy   I got Henry Lindauer to help me take my cow to McConels   3 good covers   the cow got away from us & was mean as she could be but we made it all right & Henry would take no pay as this is the 3rd time this Spring   I am in hopes she will stick   young Sloan calld this AM to sell me a tombstone   I showed him my auto & he thot they could use it  let me know Wed but didn’t wait that long   about 3 or 4 PM Sloan & another son came & lookd the auto over & went away in the rain   after supper Maude went to Dr Gardners for the nite   Mr Sloan calld again & staid till 10-30 & we made a deal wherein I let him have my auto for $500 & pay him $325 Cash for a stone set on a deep cement & rock foundation in the Taylor Cemetery   stone to be red Wisconsin granite 6 ft high in the foundation 5 ft wide & 2 ft thick suitably inscribed with 4 corner markers & 3 other markers on cement & rock foundation  all to be done as soon as Sloan can get the stone

Leave a Reply

