December 23, 1917

Sunday, December 23rd 1917 Dark & Cloudy threatning all day I went to church AM Mother had a dizzy spell & couldnt go our old fone wont work & aftr dinner I went to find Vic I want him to take hands to the timber tomorrow to chop wood I found him working at the Bank John Carr calld this Eve & he will chop 10 or 12 cords of wood & make some posts for 5c each & wood 1,25 a cord Mrs. W. P. Gardner calld this eve & brot mother a Christmas from Lavanda a nut bowl & 6 cups, nice this eve I read my little book thru Isabel sent me & while I am not particularly charmd by the authors style & diction & composition & Rhyme & his Annanias-like simplicity (90 bu corn to the acre in Colo[rado]) yet I admire the affection & the thoughts that prompted Isabel to send it to her father as a Christmas gift (In the Valley of the Grand)1

1In the Valley of the Grand, by Earnest Leaverton, 1917, can be viewed at https://goo.gl/wNqtkF. The book refers to Grand Junction, Colorado where Isabel lives.

Leave a Reply

