October 13, 1917

Sat 13  coldest morning this fall 12 below freezing   It seems real good not to have to mix & bake my cakes[1]  I got feed for the cow   I went down town & got a drayman to come & haul out the manure in the barnyard  3 good loads on our truk patch & I pd Leibe 60 cents   Ura Taylor came & workd 9 hours & mother pd her 1,25   I carried plants upstairs & churned   I & mother wrote to Leslie   I sent a card to Jon [John?] & Ellen   I went down town & maild letter & cards & got bred & cinnamon

[1] Farmers made pressed cakes from the course residue of seeds, which were used to feed their animals.  Encyclopedia Britannia, http://www.britannia.com/EBchecked/topic/426145/oil-cake

Leave a Reply

