October 16, 1915

In Clermont Oct 16 1915 Sat [Saturday] Cool & Cloudy   I got Shaved & went to see the work on the river & then Leslie & I went in his Auto to see gravel beds   they were removing dirt with a big electrically worked scraper carried on a big Steel cable   I feel dizzy at times   we recd letter from Isabel   card from Vic & the Advance [Wellman newspaper] with act [account] of Mrs Fetrows death[1] & act of my meet with Ioa City man wanting damages from me for Teets cow abusing him in my pasture  Leslie made 2 calls to nite & Some office calls   we past a pleasant Eve   I bot apples twice for 10c & then pie for 60c & got to bed at 10 oclock

[1] Ancestry.com, “Iowa, Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990”, Mary J. (Pannebecker) Fetrow, born October 31, 1842, Pennsylvania, died October 14, 1915 in Wellman, Washington County, Iowa.

Leave a Reply

