May 27, 1909

Thursday, May 27th 1909  Mostly cloudy dried very slow  I was called at 3 am by phone to go to Amandas   I hurried & dressed & found her much worse & we thought any time she would leave us but at daylight She rallied & Suffered much pain till the Dr injected Morphine   I came home at 8 am & was back & forth all day & my only Sister is as bad sick as she can be & live   I wrote to Leslie in Iowa City to come home Saturday and I wrote to Sigourney to Amanda [Pinkerton] Carr [1] & sent a Card to the Hawkeye   My paper failed to come to day & Tuesday last   I will soon go up to see Amanda this Eve   Lucy Taylor Rinehart [2]  went home to Cedar Rapids this Eve

[1] Amanda Pinkerton Carr was Isaac’s cousin and the daughter of John Pinkerton & Julia Darling.  Amanda was the wife of Samuel S. Carr (not related to Isaac Carr).

[2] Lucy Taylor Rhinehart was also Isaac’s cousin and the daughter of Addison Taylor and Sarah G. Story, and the wife of Charles Rhinehart.

Leave a Reply

