January 1, 1908 (Part I)

January 1st 1908  New years day & a very fine day  good Enough for any body & we had a nice new years dinner  Maude & Otto & Nellie & Warren here  the rest went to Rach Hulls  in the Eve I went down town awhile & got Some Salted P nuts 12 papers[?] 43c & later in the Eve a ladies club met here  the unity guild & we had a fine time  Speeches toasts & stories & light refreshments til the old year went out & the new came in  Vic & Some girls Sang good songs  I spoke on the unity guild & at 12-30 we all Separated feeling that we had Enjoyed the time 

I raised the past yr a good garden  plenty of green corn & 16 large Shox field corn  plenty of Sweet punkins & Squashes near 90 bu potatos  light crop Strawberries  few raspberries & few black berries 

Mother & I took a long trip longer than I Ever will undertake again  we Started July 11 & went to Yellowstone Park & thru the park 6 days  then we went to Portland  Stopped 3 days then on to Yoncalla Oregon Expecting to visit a week with my Brother Sam  imagine my Surprise & Sorrow to learn that he dropt dead in his barn the 6th of last feb  we went out to his place & Staid 2 days  his wife used us the best kind & gave me a handerchief a deer Skin nicely tanned & a pair of Spect [spectacles]  all these once were Sams & I value them very much  We are also much indebted to Sams daughter Allice & her husband for kind attentions while there & they went with us 35 miles on our way South  the trip failed to agree with me  I lay abed 2 days at Wayside Inn in Los angeles California & Came back via Sylvias in Grand Junction & Stopt 3 days  Sick most of the time & was very glad to get back to Iowa & home Aug 17 & found all well & I soon got well 

To be continued in the next post.

2 thoughts on “January 1, 1908 (Part I)”

  1. I feel so bad for him in this post. To travel to Yoncalla and not see Sam–it is so sad. He is a wonderful great-great grandfather to have!

    1. I do, too. Interestingly, a letter from Emma Carr was received at the Carr household in Wellman, Iowa, on July 18, 1907, while Isaac and Margaret were enjoying Yellowstone Park. Emma wrote of Sam’s death — possibly in response to a letter from Isaac saying he would stop in Yoncalla for a visit. I wonder if Isaac and Margaret would have made the trip to Yoncalla if they knew beforehand about Sam’s death. If they chose not to go, Isaac might never have received Sam’s belongings.

Leave a Reply

