January 1, 1903

Thursday Jan 1st 1903  An Ideal New years day  the finest I can remember & Mag & I went by invitation to Jesse Longwells to New yrs dinner  were late getting there as R. R. Craig Called to do Some plumbing repairs & I Staid with him too long but we had an excellent dinner & an Extra good Social visit  E. F. Smith & wife & H. B. Kreger & wife also there  we got our mail at dark tis Eve  too busy visiting to get it sooner  we commence the new year with good health all of us for which I am very thankful  Bell has been Staying at home most of the time Since Early last fall  I have Spent much money this last Summer & it has been one of the worst Seasons I Ever knew  rain rain & more & storms  I bought 14 ½ acres land joining town on South & paid $1400,00 cash  I built a nice new Square house on my Adams lots 11,70 house & 170,00 for barn  cellar under all  26×26 cistern well  barn walks &c  built by Contract by O. T. Taylor for $1340,00 & I paid Bill Rhoades Extra for well & cistern & he done a very poor job on both  the cistern leaks bad & the well caved in & cost me $10 to fix & much trouble work & anxiety  we took a trip Mag & I to see Harriet & Sylvia & John & Ellen Brewer  I went 9th June & came home 27  Mag went before to Harriets & in Oct we Started the 2nd & returned the 14th  we went to Washington DC to National Encampment GAR & it was a most delightful trip & is described in this book  in Oct the oat crop was midling fair but in wet places couldn’t possibly be cut & much of it Spoiled in the Shock  I got 214 bu midling oats from the Hughbanks place  14 nice Shox corn at Larew place  9 Shox Sweet corn at Maudes & 3 at home & about 20 bu soft corn at Larew place & 35 bu fine potatos & 29 from Hughbanks place & at least 12 at home  there is 50 acres corn on Hughbanks place  I get 2/5  it will go 35 bu to the acre  is not husked yet  I have 3075,00 at intrest mostly 6%  I owe 1887,00 at the W S Bank [Wellman Savings bank] & have time certificates to the Amt of $4490,00 drawing 6% & very little on Sight deposit  I have been close run for money for sometime  we have 10 or 12 bbls fine apples  45 bu good potatos  plenty turnips in the cellar  my cave in well fixed & I feel in good fix genly [generally?]  I Sold Larew home for $200 6% one yr to H. Mantz  I have no Complaint to make & am very thankful to the giver of all for my good health & prosperity

Leave a Reply

