January 1, 1899

Isaac starts out the new year by writing “New years day & we are all well”.

This journal entry talks about saying goodbye to farm life and his hired hand, Harve, along with documenting his farm and in-town grain supplies.  Isaac also documents his financial accounts in keeping with past journal entries and talks about his new home in town.

Sunday January 1st 1899  Cold & dry  a cold tho not hard South wind  Sylvia Jap Mag & I & Nellie Vic & Leslie went to Holdens to Spend the day by invitation  we had a good visit & after dinner I came with Jap to get his team & he & Sylvia went home to Keota  Lola Oldaker is with our girls  Jap pulled a tooth or the roots of one for Maude this morning  there is no snow on the ground but roads are Somewhat rough  we are all getting well used to our new home & like it real well  by being away to day the girls didn’t quite understand the furnace & rather neglected it & I have had more trouble than Common in keeping our rooms up to 70 degrees this Eve  I hardly know whether we have got the right kind of a furnace or not  tho I think if we had good dry wood it will be all right  our plumbing & all connected with it gives good Satisfaction except the air pressure tank don’t Serve us as well as I Expected  our Gasoline lights are all we could ask & if nothing occurs to change my mind I shall like town life real well  My hired man Harve Dorrance that had worked for me 12 yrs I paid off & let him go  Some weeks ago  I have no use for a hand now  I have near 400 bu of Corn here in my Crib & at least 5000 bu Cribbed up on my farm  I have about 300 bu of oats here & 400 on the farm  I also have 2 good rix of hay & a mow 12x14x34 & another 20x16x20 in barn on my farm  I have a driving team of grays 5 yrs old & a team of draft colts 5 in Spring & a riding colt 2 yrs in Spring & 2 good cows & 2 pigs  I have now $1350 in Wellman bank  Most of it time deposit Stockholders certificate at 7%  in fact all but $250,00 & I have $18 being 4th annual div of Keota farmers bank 6% & one dollar in Silver & I have now $2050,00 in Wellman Savings bank $1100 bu of rent corn & 7 or 8 hundred bu of fair rent oats  I have put in all my time thro the summer Superintending my building [new house in Wellman] & am well Satisfied with it  there has been much Sickness the last fall & mostly typhoid fever & many Cases proved fatal  I am very thankful we have all escaped  Bell is teaching School & boards at John Romine’s  I take her Every Monday morning & go for her Every Friday Eve  Some trips it is great a task for me but I will do all I am able to encourage my girls to make their living & Save what they Earn  good bye to the old year

Leave a Reply

