October 10, 1898

Monday October 10th 1898  Rain all the AM & Some times quite hard  a very poor time for a Sale  we arose Early & Roy soon came but the rain also soon came & Seemed to spoil all my plans but the men began to Come Early in Spite of the rain & before 11 AM we had a good crowd but it rained till plum noon  we had Early dinner  Jesse Leasure my auctioneer came about 9 in the rain  I invited Several in to dinner  H G Moore my Clerk Came in the rain about 10 AM  it Stopped raining about noon & at 1 PM Leasure began Selling my stuff  traps sold very low also horses  the highest any brought was one colt  3 past $27  hogs sold fairly well 22 head  Cattle sold well 43 head & by 4 PM we had all sold out  I saved 2 Cows 5 horses & 3 pigs to take to Wellman  Beamer & Co commenced putting in my furnace

Leave a Reply

