August 5, 1898

I. N. Carr's Victorian Home in Wellman, Iowa
      The finial on top of the cupola on  I. N. Carr’s                      Victorian Home in Wellman, Iowa

Friday August 5  A nice dry day  I went to Wellman PM  we boxed & crated my 8 ft iron finial & vane & I gave Nicola &c 2,75 & they sent it back as we thought it too much of a job to put it on & I sent thru Nicola & Gardner for another fineal[1] to cost $14  in the PM I went to Keota & looked over Ralph Hamiltons house & saw the cresting he used & I went to Randdolph’s & bought 3 fineals with vanes for 4,50 not paid & I ordered 92 ft of cresting at 17c a foot with 4 fineals  I then went to Mr Greens & found Sylvia & baby & brought them home by noon to dinner & then went to Wellman & Albersons & Co  had the house all lathed & I paid him $15  I recd a letter from Harvey Carris containing draft for $20,00  I put $300 in bank one yr at 7% Stockholders Certificate  I paid Albert Taylor $100 in Carpenter work  I paid Harve $5

[1] A finial is an ornament on top of a spire, gable, etc.

Leave a Reply

