July 30, 1898

Saturday July 30th 1898  Warm & damp & foggy in the morning & looked some like rain but soon cleared off  Harve has a lame back & don’t work  went away  the boys & I went to Nira & got mail & I sold the corn in the barn crib from 600 to 900 bu to Clum Mahaffa [Columbia Mahaffa, b. ca. 1861][1] for 29 1/2c a bu  I deliver at Nira at his option any time between now & the 15th of next Sept  Each one to pay ½ the weigh bill  he paid me one dollar on corn  I got Cotton bats 45c pins 5c & Lewis lye 20c  home to dinner & PM I took Mag to Wellman to WRC  we looked over the house  tis nearly ready for plastering & I am so far well pleased with my carpenters  Roy brought a load of hay to Wellman & I helped him put it in my barn  it is from the Hughbanks place  Harve failed to appear this Eve

[1] 1895 Iowa State Census, Washington County, Iowa, FamilySearch.org, http://www.familysearch.org

Leave a Reply

