December 31, 1897

Friday Dec 31st & the last day of this year  Colder & roads real icy  Harve got a load of wood on the Sled from the Hughbanks timber  I went to Nira for the mail  Started up the rr [railroad?] afoot  the hand car overtook me & stopped for me to ride & I took my first ride on a hand carr with the Section boss Mr Kopotch & 1 hand  I found Joe England in town & rode back with him  I paid T H Ashton $15,00  I hesitated Some before Starting to Nira afoot  a few years ago I thought nothing of walking that far  now it seems like quite a task  Frank Hicks went to the Brown School house & brought Bell & then She went with him to Wellman to a Musical Entertainment & Klokenteger [1] took Maude  I think they had a cold ride  G W Statler called to buy timber

 

[1] Otto Klockenteger is the future husband of Maude Bertha Carr.  They will be married in 1901.

Leave a Reply

