January 4, 1896

Sat Jan 4  A rather cold disagreeable day  I am about the same  I eat some 3 times but done no Chores  Vic went to Nira & got the mail  I wrote a letter to Frank Iams[1] in Neb [Nebraska]  also sent $2 to the Homestead for Wm Carris & Roy  Each a years subscription & this will xtend my Subscription a year from 25th of next Apr  Ris Sheppard Called PM & Stayed an hour or 2  offered me 3,20 for hogs & 3,25 for my fat Steers  I didn’t sell  Harve water the 17 Cattle at the other place  he has worked 139 days & drew $57,25

[1] Frank & Ella Iams lived in St. Paul, Howard County, Nebraska.  The 1900 U. S. Federal Census states that Frank was born in Iowa and his occupation was horse importer.

Leave a Reply

