September 23, 1885

Wednesday Sept 23    A very fine day   I left Davtremonts at 8 AM & Old Mr. Davtremonts nearly blind went with me a ¼ of a mile   I walked 1 ½ miles East & took train for Iowa City to attend a reunion of the Iowa brigade   I arrived in the City at 10 AM   Saw many of my old Comrads & at night we marched to the opera house & listened to speeches by Bellknap genl Arthur & others   a real good time   put up for the night at the Iowa city hotel   slept with Pery Vanwinkle

Leave a Reply

